Opolskie wydanie002


The Opolskie Voivodeship is situated in the south-western region of Poland ? it borders with the Czech Republic and four Polish voivodeships: Dolnośląskie, Wielkopolskie, Łódzkie and Śląskie. The region encompasses an area of 9,412 km2 (3% of the country's territory) and has a population of around 1,044 thousand (which is around 2.7 % of the population of the country). The City of Opole is the capital of the voivodeship and larger cities primarily include: Kędzierzyn-Koźle, Nysa, Brzeg, Kluczbork, Paczków, Prudnik, Byczyna, Krapkowice, Głogówek, Strzelce Opolskie, Namysłów and Głuchołazy.The asset of the Opole Region is its location on the important communication lines - railway lines, roads and the Oder River waterway.

The A-4 motorway, which is a part of the trans-European Berlin-Kiev route, runs through the area of the voivodeship and is the most important for the southern part of the country. There are six passenger and cargo border crossings with the Czech Republic. Location on the route of the international East-West main railway line, which in the long run is to be incorporated into the European Rail Transport, provides a solid foundation for the dynamic development of the region. The Opole Region is one of the best developed areas of the country in terms of infrastructure - public road network density is 90.9 km per 100 square km.

Different cultures, such as Polish, Silesian, German and Czech intertwine in the Opole Region. Thanks to this, the Opole Region inhabitants learned to live in tolerance and peace. In 1998, when the administrative reform of the country hanged in the balance, the residents expressed their determination and strong ties with the region. The Opole Region inhabitants managed to get it all their way and won their own voivodeship. Marshal Office of the Opolskie Voivodeship, as one of the first in the country, has obtained ISO 9001 Quality Management System Certificate.


source: www.opolskie.pl